Eight MPs from Nidaa Tounes decide to join “National Coalition" parliamentary bloc
08/09/2018 19:33, TUNIS/Tunisia

(TAP) - Eight MPs of Nidaa Tounes have decided to resign from the parliamentary bloc of the party and join the freshly created "National Coalition" bloc, MP Mohamed Rachdi told TAP on Saturday.

The eight MPs are: Zohra Driss, Moncef Sellami, Ahmed Saidi, Issam Mattoussi, Lamia Dridi, Jalel Guedira, Mohamed Rachdi and Marwa Bouazzi, he added.

Joined by TAP, Zohra Driss confirmed the information, saying the eight MPs plan to officially submit their resignation to the Bureau of the House of People's Representatives next Wednesday.

She said the resignation was decided about a week ago. Our resignation was decided as a result of what she described as "disappointment" as to how the Nidaa Tounes movement is managed and led, she said, noting that Nidaa Tounes' executive director "takes all the powers and gives no consideration to the structures and leaders of the party".

MP Mohamed Rachdi also said that the eight MPs were received by the Prime Minister at their request on Saturday to discuss the preparations for the new parliamentary session and the draft budget law for the year 2019.

He said the issue of resignation was not raised during this meeting.

The "National Coalition" bloc, formed in late August, includes 33 MPs. It is composed of independents, resigning parliamentary groups from Machrou Tounes and Nidaa Tounes movements as well as deputies of the Free Patriotic Union bloc.

Twitter Updates Newsletter Signup Contact Us

To receive our newsletter,register

tel: 71889000
fax: 71883500, 71888999